top of page

Rachel Cottam


A bit about our creatives: Photographer: Rachel Cottam 1. Whats the concept behind your project?... A series of constructed location portraits that explores young teenage girls within adolescence. Investigating aspects such as self image and how these young ladies appear to look a lot older than what they are. As well as aiming to capture the innocent expression of the girl, the project intends to portray the idea of searching and longing for personal identity. Whilst the fashion that can be seen within the images has been influenced by 90's vintage street wear. 2. Where do you find your inspiration for your images? I have found inspiration from John Lloyd Quayle who has recently done a series on girls culture for Trip Magazine and Helen Van Meene of her intimate portraits of adolescent girls. I have also found style inspiration from movie production stills from movies like 'Fish Tank' and the mini series 'This is England' 3. Was being a photographer a dream you had since you are young? How did you get into photography? I first picked up my dads compact digital camera at the age of 11 and ever since then I've loved it. 4. As a student photographer, how do you combat creative block? Just go on Instagram and try and find as much inspiration as possible, print screening images and things that inspire me for future shoots. 5. Are there any photographers or artists close to you heart that inspires you? I have so many but I would say a few new upcoming p hotographers like Sophie Lobban, Dean Davis & Laura Coughlan 6. Have you always wanted to photograph the same genre or has this changed from when you started the degree? I have always wanted to photograph the same genre of photography which is a mixture of editorial portraits & fashion shots ever since the second year of College when I started doing a lot of editorial portraits shots on 35mm. 7. What are your plans after you graduate? I'm hoping to have a couple of jobs as well as assisting voluntary for more experience in the industry & then eventually moving to Manchester when i've got some money behind me smile

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page